• Answer Phone (01392) 211624
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
slide 2
Header Slide-3 Across front page

our region

The Plymouth and Exeter District is the only Methodist District with two separate coast lines - north (on the Bristol Channel) and south (English Channel)!

The area includes the rugged Dartmoor National Park and the rather less rugged Exmoor National Park, and for good measure also includes Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty in South Devon, East Devon, North Devon, the Tamar Valley and the Blackdown Hills

The South West is the most popular holiday area in the country and our District includes a large area of it - most of Devon, half of Somerset and small areas of West Dorset and East and North Cornwall.


Predominantly, Plymouth and Exeter is a rural District but there are several major centres of population; including Plymouth (population c.245,000), Torbay (130,000) and Exeter (120,000) in Devon and Taunton (60,000) in Somerset. Exeter and Taunton are both County Towns and in 1998 Plymouth and Torbay were made Unitary Authorities.

Many of the churches in our district lie in small seaside and market towns, as well as a good number in relatively remote rural villages..